A Black Girl in the Philippines: Meet Laura Wise!

A Black Girl In the World

What made you move to where you are today? 
I moved to the Philippines for a job and adventure. I’m a young adult missionary for the United Methodist Church. When I applied for the program I accepted having no idea where I was going. So my appetite for adventure definitely allowed me to be open enough to go where I was summoned. And viola..15 months later I’m here in the Philippines working for peace and justice with a local NGO.
IMG_6370
 How did you prepare for the move? How did you find housing? Did you need to learn a new language? 
In my case I definitely over-prepared. Before moving I went through an intense 3 week training preparing my batch-mates and I to live and work internationally. The theme was: simple living, and I really took it to the extreme. I brought no cute clothes, no heels, none of my fabulous…

View original post 581 more words

Leave a Reply

